Asia Society: Teachers Workshop

Summer 2022 Workshops

Track 1: Missing in History: The Asian American Journey

Saturday, July 30, 2022, 8 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. PT (11 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. ET) 

Asian American history is American history. This workshop will address key issues on Asian Americans and follow an Ethnic Studies framework and curriculum requirements. The workshop is suitable for American HistorySocial Studies, and Civics classes for middle and high school teachers.

  • Session 1: The Making of Asian Americans, 8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET)
    Speaker: Lok Siu, Associate Professor of Ethnic Studies, Chair of the Asian American Research Center. University of California, Berkeley
  • Session 2: Major Asian American Legal Cases that Changed America, 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET)
    Speaker: John Trasvina, former dean of the University of San Francisco School of Law

 

Track 2: The China You Should Know: Past and Present

Saturday, August 6, 2022, 9 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. PT (Noon - 3:30 p.m. ET)

As an emerging superpower, what impact will China have globally, both economically and politically? This track will focus on Modern China and its impact on the U.S. and on the world. These sessions will provide resources and content for World History, Social Studies and Chinese Language classes for middle and high school teachers. Our past workshops focused exclusively on Modern China – see a short video of these sessions in action.

  • Session 1: China’s Past Is Always Present, 9 a.m. PT
    Speaker: Thomas Gold, Professor of Sociology, University of California, Berkeley
  • Session 2: Headline: China, 11 a.m. PT
    Speaker: Clay Dube, Executive Director, U.S.-China Institute, University of Southern California